Clarence Clamons died today at the age of 69

It was early in 1975 and I was doing a tour of duty in Chile. I went to the ship’s store and asked to look through the box of new cassette tapes. I came across the tape “Born to Run” by Bruce Springsteen and the E Street band.

I had just read an article in Time Magazine speaking of this odd band whose lead singer, who did not have a good voice, but like Bob Dylan wrote good songs that spoke to everyday life.  The article also spoke of the Sax player whose driving riffs that went to the base of one’s souls. So not even knowing anything more than this, I bought the tape, went to my rack, and put it into my moderate size “Boom Box”, and laid there to see what this band was about. Needless to say I was blown away and it is still one of my favorite recordings even to date.

Well today I heard that Clarence Clemons died today of a stroke at the age of 69. The new made me feel not only sad but brought on the realization of my own mortality. So in honor of Clarence Clemons and this great moment in music I am posting this song from that album.

http://youtu.be/oI1TwWyoumw

Tags: , , ,

3 Responses to “Clarence Clamons died today at the age of 69”

  1. Helizabet Says:

    Count your life by the happy moments.
    Count your age by people who love you!
    Rest in peace great man.

  2. Engineer Of Knowledge Says:

    Helizabet said:
    Count your life by the happy moments.
    Count your age by people who love you!
    Rest in peace great man.

    Hello Helizabet,
    Thank you for your comment. I am still getting use to this new “WordPress” site. I have another on engineerofknowledge.blogspot.com but it is giving me trouble also. This is the reason I am switching to “WordPress.”

    So I will close by saying once again, “Thank you.”

    Engineer of Knowledge

  3. microdot Says:

    I’m changing the link on my page to your new address!
    Lately, we have been rediscovering Springsteen and the amazing body of work he has created. Clemons was a mighty beam that made it work.He was the bridge to another era. Not enough great horn players in rock anymore.

Leave a Reply

