An Important Dialogue On Counter Terrorism And National Security

As those who visit this site are of a more intelectual level, I thought I would post this message I received from my daughter who graduated from Washington College.

DENNIS BLAIR    AUDREY CRONIN      COFER BLACK    SARAH SEWALL
moderated by JOHN HARWOOD

Thursday, September 8, 2011 at 5 p.m.
Gibson Center for the Arts, Washington
College, Chestertown, MD.

Marking the ten-year anniversary of the attacks on the United States, a blue-ribbon panel of counter-terrorism experts will visit Washington College on September 8 for an important dialogue on the current state of national security. President Mitchell Reiss invites all alumni to participate in this vital conversation. Please SUBMIT YOUR QUESTIONS ( micenroad2@washcoll.edu )before midnight on September 7, 2011. Then join us on campus, or tune in for the simulcast discussion at live.washcoll.edu.

I think that my regular blog followers will find this very interesting.  Washington College is a private liberal arts college with names from the Whos Whos list who attend and support this college.  Being so close to Washington D.C. they do get the cream of the crop of those who really make the policies….not like those on Blow Hard Radio or Fox.  You will find a lot of Truth and Facts here.

5 Responses to “An Important Dialogue On Counter Terrorism And National Security”

  1. lacithedog Says:

    I have to admit that my opinion of the response to the 9-11 attacks was that it was wrong from the start.

    I was in the Delaware County (PA) Prison on the Morning of 9-11 to meet with a client. The guard greeted me with the news that a plane had crashed into the WTC (which he had gleaned from Howard Stern no less). I didn’t think too much about it as a U.S. Army B-25 bomber had crashed into the Empire State Building on July 28, 1945.

    Anyway, about an hour later, the prison went into lockdown. I turned on the radio to a confused NPR. I called my partner who was in a panic.

    The usual response to terrorism in the UK is to try to remain as calm as possible, since terrorism seeks to create a state of fear.

    Unfortunately, most of the East Coast closed down that morning. Not to mention that air traffic was shut down for a week.

    I hope you don’t mind me cross posting this item.

  2. Engineer Of Knowledge Says:

    Hello Laci,
    I want you to feel free to consider this blog site as your own and I welcome anything you have to offer. As a matter of fact, I insist.

    I was working as a regional Sales Manager but was working from my office in my home. I kept a small portable Black & White TV on my desk to listen to the morning news as I started my morning e-mails from clients I had on the West Coast. At first I thought is was just a private small plane as the news was not sure themselves.

    I was watching the live feed when the second plane flew into the second tower in real time. I called the home office in Exton, PA and told them because they had no idea anything had happened.

    You bring up a good point of the B-25 in 1945 crashing into the Empire State Building. The results were a world of difference as to the long term results.

  3. microdot Says:

    I was just looking at a suite of historical pictures of the Empire State Building and have a great account of the B-25 Crash in a book on the building my niece gave me.
    I was in my East 5th Street & Ave B Apt on 9/11. I lived on the top floor and in the middle of my stage of commuting back and forth between NYC and France. I had the keys to the roof and my downstairs neighbor started pounding on my door asking if we could go on the roof because something had happened….We had a clear view of the Trade Center, perhaps 1 1/2 kilometers away.
    We tried to figure out from the radio, but all was confused. The TV was out because the transmitters were on the tower.
    I got on my bike and rode to Union Square where there were hundreds of people hanging around and tried to get some info….
    That’s when I knew that a plane had hit one…
    I started to ride downtown as the second plane hit….I had a pretty good view of that. Then I was down at Canal Street and was as close as I thought I could safely be…I rode down Greenwich and was among the throng of confused people on the street.
    There was a massive traffic jam…everything was frozen.
    I got over to Church Street and was looking straight at the buildings when the first tower started to collapse…I felt like I was witnessing the destruction of Sodom and Gomorrah and had to get out of there as fast as I could, or perhaps I would turn to a pillar salt. I rode my bike s fast as I could the wrong way up 6th Ave through the massive traffic jam. When I finally looked back, I saw the cloud of dust rushing up the avenue….I got over to 7th and rode as fast as I could and didn’t stop until I got to Central Park.
    The smell was incredible, indescribably. I think I escaped the effects of the dust. I hung out in Central Park for a few hours, pretty shaken up. I rode home to the East Village and later that afternoon, the entire area below 14th Street became a “police state”. I had to show ID to get in or out.
    I was supposed to go back to France 3 days later, but my trip was delayed two weeks…
    To many still unanswered questions about the actions that day. The Saudi Nationals, relatives of the Bin Laden family allowed to leave the country, when no one else could.
    The ignored clear warning that this was being planned….
    The anger is natural, and i believe anger is precious commodity, I reserve the right to lose my temper and I do it rarely, but I try to make sure my anger is not wasted on the wrong target!

    Go back to the proposed American Trans Afghani pipeline progress to pipe oil from the Black Sea and the attempt of the Bush Administration to strong arm the Taliban into accepting their terms.
    The Taliban walked out of the meeting in Berlin after rejecting the American threats.

    2 months later?

  4. microdot Says:

    btw, one of oldest friends, who lived on the corner of Broadway and W.3rd Street died a few months ago from lung cancer. Her doctor believed that the cancer was direct effect of 9/11.

  5. Engineer Of Knowledge Says:

    Hello Microdot,
    Thank you so much for the personal account of that day. Yes per many documents and even Rice’s own admittance there were many warnings sent to the W. Bush’s administration…but they chose to ignore them.

    It appears that they were too busy plotting and scamming the U.S. population on project that just funneled the nation’s coffers into their own pockets.

Leave a Reply

