Do You Recognize This Medical Instrument?

Thought you would enjoy this educational moment in American History.

Can you name this strange old tool?  Do you know what it is?

Tobacco Smoke Enema Kit

Tobacco Smoke Enemas (1750s – 1810s)

The tobacco enema was used to infuse tobacco smoke into a patient’s rectum for various medical purposes, primarily the resuscitation of drowning victims.  A rectal tube inserted into the anus was connected to a fumigator and bellows that forced the smoke towards the rectum.

The warmth of the smoke was thought to promote respiration, but doubts about the credibility of tobacco enemas led to the popular phrase “Blow Smoke Up One’s Ass.”

With the Republican Party so indebted and financially subservient to the whims of the Tobacco Institution today, this has been reintroduced in WashingtonD.C. by the “Extreme Element” within the “Republican Dominated Congress” as their counter proposal to the “Affordable Health Care Bill” being currently debated in the Supreme Count.

This new medical treatment proposal will be a major part of their “New Health Care Program” as the Republican Party is so talented and acclimated in the art of the Tea Party’s “Blow Smoke Up Your Ass” illogical and non-critical thinking policies.

So Here’s To Your New Republican HEALTH…….CARE?

13 Responses to “Do You Recognize This Medical Instrument?”

  1. mudrake Says:

    Very incisive, Engineer. While the anal/rectal smoke tube penetration devise has been relegated to the dustbin of medical history, the 2012 vaginal/uteral probe is alive and well in right-wing circles all across the land. These characters are terribly warped individuals who apparently get some vicarious testosterone charge in the thought of vaginal probes.

    Sick? Of course, but we knew that ‘they’ live in a fantasy world where all types of imaginary things fly by.

  2. jackjodell53 Says:

    That sounds like Republican medicine!

  3. microdot Says:

    C’mon, we are really looking back with romantic nostalgia to the days when radium was the miracle mystery drug that could possibly cure everything…well, until the doses started to kill everyone and everything. Back in the late 1800’s and the beginning of the 20th century, Cocaine was the wonder drug and I wonder why?
    Popular American medicine has always been about quick bucks and quackery…I watch NBC news on satellite here and almost everynight, the broadcast ends with the disease of the day or questionable health breakthrough of the week…Or the drug adverts on television for weight loss, or what ever…they do the happy music video then at the end a speed reader gives you the 500 possibly deadly side effects.
    It’s depressing to me to have to argue with Americans about their health care system. When I try to communicate with Republicans or Libertarians about the reality of what I have here in France, I get some fatalistic gobbledegook about the shared misery of socialized medicine.
    Frankly, I must like being miserable. I pay about 30 Euros a month for my Mutual policy. With the French Medical system, that means I do not pay for doctors visits, I pay nothing for prescription drugs. If I go to a hospital, then I am guaranteed a pretty nice level of service. I get annoying notices from the Securitie Sociale about free cancer tests, blood tests…Cheezopeeza…this miserable French medical socialized system will probably keep me on my bike doing long distance training into my 80’s….I’d like to share my misery with all of the Republicans and Libertarians in American, but frankly, I’m greedy….and I really don’t want to give the American Medical industry a red centime…..

    • Engineer of Knowledge Says:

      Hello Microdot,
      I don’t know why a country the size of Texas like France can provide the quality of health care to its citizens but in the United States with “The Affordable Health Care Bill” where you try to provide health care to our own children. A college graduate with there degree in hand trying to find work but still living at home with his parents because there is no employment with medical, this Bill fills in that gap of “No Health Care Coverage” should something happen. It amazes me how cruel some people can be to our own children in this country with the attitude of just “throwing them under the bus” of no fault of their own but just victims of the economic conditions. The causes by the reduction of collecting taxes that fund government but increased spending of two wars (never before in history of the U.S. did we try to fight a war but quit collecting taxes to fund it). Instead those who went into these wars saw a better idea of borrowing the money from a foreign power…..but we cannot make sure our own children keep their health.

  4. J.O.B. Says:

    Smoke in your A O, that’s awesome, where can I get my device?

    Happy Easter E.

    • Engineer of Knowledge Says:

      Hello J.O.B.
      Happy Easter to you too. Does your daughter still believe in the Easter Bunny? If I remember from my childhood so long ago….Easter was just second to Christmas in the excitement factor. 🙂

      By the way, as of last Saturday I am now a 32nd degree Mason in the Scottish Rite.

      • J.O.B. Says:

        E- Of course she does, and I love it. I have to take her to Mass tomorrow, but other than that, should be a great day. Easter is just as big of a family event as Christmas. I love it.

        I would like to give you a big Internet, congratulatory hug, for your accomplishment in Freemasonry. I am very proud to know you. 🙂

  5. microdot Says:

    J.O.B…perhaps I can interest you in some radium suppositories? There are a few internet sites that have big collections of arcane popular medical items of the not so long ago past…
    We are celebrating Easter here…Pacques as it is known in France. There are Easter Bunnies, the best ones are the white chocolate good foil wrapped Lindt bunnies… but the real tradition is Chocolate Easter Bells and Fish. I started to collect the molds the chocolatiers use to make the Bells and Fish. The fish are usually solid chocolate, or hollow, but the hollow chocolate bells are usually filled with what we call coquillage, which are molded chocolate piecers in the shape of shell fish, white and dark chocolate filled with pralinee…which of course is a paste made with hazelnuts…..
    Why bells? there is a traditional Easter story the children were told of all the bells in the bell towers in France flying off to Rome on Good Friday…and it’s still the tradition, between 3pm Friday and Easter morning, all the bells in France are silent….On Easter morning all the bells come back, filled with chocolate and start ringing at 7am….So, I am trying to keep traditional here and I am attempting to make my first chocolate bell from one of my antique molds…I have the coquillage ready to fill it with!

  6. Engineer of Knowledge Says:

    Hello Microdot,
    You will have to take pictures of your antique chocolate bell molds and the finished product you talked about…I am really very interested. I just read your comment to my wife and daughter so they can have an idea of what Easter is like in France. Great Job my friend.

  7. microdot Says:

    Okay…my Easter Bell was a failure…but I remelted the chocolate and we did a fish…and I filled it with coquillage. I will post the picture later today on my blog.
    I made the two halves of the bell, then I heated a teflon cutting board over hot water and my plan was to fill the bell, and heat the edges of the pieces with the warmish board than put them together.
    Then top piece melted and in my subsequent attempts to repair it, I destroyed it…the fish on the other hand…turned out great….

Leave a comment